h1

Fashion Boutique in Seattle – I wish…

February 5, 2009

I just returned from the Twin Cities last night! 

Flying into Seattle weather was encouraging for once in my life.  My short 4 day trip to Minneapolis consisted of Single Digit weather –  enough to make my nose bleed, I’m serious!  The 66F temperature in Seattle left me wearing gloves as a fashion statement, as opposed to a necessity!

My reason for being in Minneapolis:  An awesome conference entitled Desiring Godhosted by John Piper and Bethlehem Baptist Church.  This was my second conference to attend but this time surpassed the previous.  This was a Pastor and Leadership Conference meaning the content was a bit thicker and meaningful, I highly recommend reading a John Piper book (yet the Bible I insist), many of which can be found at DesiringGod.org or by ordering one on Amazon.com.  Furthermore I had some quality time with my Father and my Uncle, both key leaders in Action International Ministries.  And finally during this all (actually the morning after arriving), I made Stevon Selects discovery…..{see below}

lendruskin3

 For over 30 years, Len Druskin has been the David Lawrence of the Twin Cities, providing premium labels for men and women.  Today, the son Michael Druskin is responsible for the buying and gives his father a run for his money…hopefully making them both more money. 

 I was pleasantly ammused with the store variety and design.  It was larger than a typical boutique style store and industrial and clean in ambience, reminding me of Ian in Seattle.  A fashionable, corteous and very NOT condescending young lady assisted me – the only customer in the store (it was at Monday at noon).  I was not a buying customer but a blogging customer yet she did not realize either.   Nevertheless she offered me Len Druskin labelled bottled water – I had never had it before but it tasted like AquaFina, duh! but a fine touch.

  I continued to browse and casually make conversation, while a bubbly and enthusiastic young employee entered the store as if he had been on an errand.  That was a pivotal moment you see because I realized what made this store distinguishable and a definte Stevon Select.  In that moment I dismissed the fact that they carried some very “boring” labels like Seven For All ManKind and Rock & Republic denim (The Saks Fifth next too them carries those and at a better price!) and realized that in comparison to many upscale shopping boutiques this one was down to earth!  It may sound simple or even arbitrary, but how many times have you entered a shop only to get fondeled by looks of bored snobbish attitudes or in some cases disguist!  To many times these boutique owners or employees like to to remind shoppers whose boss…quite a flaw when the customer is king!   In actuality this dreadful fashion superiority many times translates into a personality flaw.  I sensed neither a rude nor judgemental attitude in either of the two employees.  Fashion is too often coupled by snobbish andegotistic persona’s.  Thank you, Len Drunskin Man for being above that!  ( thats an essay like topic, so I’ll stop now)

Len Drunskin Man is rightfully confident – “If someone looks good around here, they probably shopped with us. ”

They carry mens brands like  Rag & Bone , Diesel Black,  Marc Jacobs, & J.Linberg – ultimately their attitude makes the clothes all that MORE ATTRACTIVE!!  So to Len & Son (michael) – Think about expanding and bring Len Drunskin Man to Seattle. 

You can find this store right outside Saks Fifth in what Minneapolites call the Galleria, or visit http://www.lendruskinman.com/.   ||fashion in seattle|| ||seattle fashion blog||

lendruskin2lendruskin

Leave a Reply

